Managing your site

In this section:

  • Learn the different content types
  • Learn how to move pages within the site
  • Learn how to hide a webpage
  • Learn how to delete a webpage
  • Learn how to view an old version of a page, and roll back to that version.
  • Learn how to search for a page
  • Learn how to publish multiple pages
  • Learn how to set content owners and review dates
  • Learn how to add "To Do" items.

Before we begin:

  • Make sure you are in the "Pages" section on the navigation tabs. 

Page types

There are many different types of pages in SilverStripe, each with its own functionality and purpose. By now you already know how to create a basic page. It is also possible to change a page from one page type to another.

Different page types and their functions

Basic pages
  • Page - The most basic page type. It contains content, and has no customised functionality or special purpose. Most pages you create on your site will be of this type.
  • Home Page - The Home Page behaves like any other page, with the exception that it is the home page for your site - what users will see first if they browse directly to the root of your domain.
  • Error Page - The page displayed when an error is produced by the website. Error pages can be created for individual error types, so for example, a 404 "Page not found" can look different from a 403 "Forbidden" page.
  • Redirector to another page - This page on the website redirects the user to either another page on the same website, or a page on an external website.
  • Virtual Page - A virtual page uses the content of another page. This is different from a redirector, as a redirector essentially links one location on the website to another, while a virtual page copies the content of the other page. Editing the page the virtual page is based on will, in turn, edit the copied virtual page.
Other types of pages
  • Blog Holders and Blog Entries - See the "Blogs" section.
  • Forum Holders and Forum Entries - See the Forums section
  • User Defined Forms - See the Forms section

Changing an existing page type

To change a page type, look in the Contents pane for the page you wish to change. Click on it, and head to the "Behaviour" tab in the editing pane. You can change the page type from the "Page type" drop-down menu. Save your changes by pressing "Save" in the bottom right hand corner of the editing pane.

Moving pages within the site

To move a page within the site, head to the Contents pane on the left side of the screen. At the top of the content page should be a check-box next to "Allow drag & drop reordering." By default, this should be turned off, in order to prevent errant clicks from altering the content of the site by accident. 

Clicking on that checkbox will enable drag and drop reordering, and you can move a page by clicking on it, and dragging it to its new position in the website.  After you are done moving pages, it's a good idea to turn off the checkbox next to "Allow drag & drop reordering" to prevent the accidental reordering of webpages.

Hiding pages

To hide a web page, choose the page you wish to hide in the Contents pane on the left hand side, then choose the "Behaviour" tab in the editing pane.

You can remove your site from being listed in your site's navigation bar by removing the checkmark next to "Show in menus."

You can remove your site from being listed in search results by removing the checkmark next to "Show in search."

After you have made these changes, hit the "Save" button in the bottom right hand of the editing pane.

Deleting pages

Deleting individual pages

To delete an individual page, click on the page you want to delete in the Contents pane. In the Main tab inside the Content tab in the editing pane, you will see in the bottom right hand corner two buttons, "Unpublish" and "Delete from the draft site."

The "Unpublish" button will remove the current webpage from the public-facing front end of your site. However, the content will remain as a draft, and no data will be lost - the page will remain in the CMS.

The "Delete from Draft Site" button will remove the current webpage from the back-end CMS, but if you have previously published it, it will not be removed from the public-facing front-end of your site.

To completely delete a webpage, click on "Unpublish" first, then click on "Delete from the draft site."

 

Deleting multiple pages

To delete multiple pages, click "Batch Actions" on the top of the content pane. Each page in the page tree in the Contents pane should now have a checkbox next to it. Check all the pages you want to delete. (And perhaps more importantly, make sure NOT to check those pages you do not want to delete.)

From the drop-down menu at the top of the contents pane, choosing "Delete from Published Site" will remove the page from the public-facing portion of the website, but retain a copy of those pages in the backend CMS.

Choosing "Delete from draft site" will remove the page from the backend CMS, but the page will remain on the public-facing portion of the website.

To completely delete multiple pages, you must do both. The order of deletions in "Batch Actions" does not matter, though it's generally a good idea to delete from the published site first, then delete from the draft site.

Previous versions of pages

Viewing previous versions

Click on the page you want to view a previous version of in the Contents pane's "Page Tree."

At the bottom of the Contents pane, you will find a small grey bar marked "Page Version History" with a chevron. Click on those chevrons to bring up the Page Version History window in the Contents pane.

 

Click on any of the listed versions to look at the content of the page. If you want to view draft versions of pages as well as published versions, click the "Show unpublished versions" checkbox.

Comparing page versions

To compare two versions of the site, click on "Compare mode (click 2 below)" and click on one version of the site, and then another version of the site. Items that have been added to the site in the newer version that were not in the older version will be highlighted in green, while items that were deleted from the older version will be highlighted in pink, with a strikethrough through any text that was deleted.

Rolling back changes

To roll back to a previous version, select the version you with to roll the page back to, and click on "Roll back to this version" in the editing pane.

Notes:

When a page is rolled back to the previous version, it is only rolled back in the backend CMS as a draft. To show the rolled back page on the public-facing website, it needs to be published by pressing "Save and Publish."

 

Searching for pages

To search for a page, click on the "Search" button on the top of the Contents pane. This will bring up an entry form.

The default search mode is by text, and you can type any text to search your pages for that text. Pressing search will show only positive results in the Page Tree on the Contents pane.

Search results will remain the only items in the Page Tree until the "Clear" button is pressed.

You can also use the drop-down menu marked "Add criteria" to search by different criteria, including "Edited since," "Page Type," "Title," "Navigation Label," "Status," "Description," or "Keywords."

Notes:

One neat trick is that you can search for pages, and then perform a batch action upon them, such as deleting them or publishing them. For example, by searching for Page Type: "BlogEntry" and Edited Since: "(whatever last Thursday was)" you can then create a quick batch action to publish all blog posts written since last Thursday.

 

Publishing multiple pages

To publish multiple pages, click "Batch Actions" on the top of the content pane. Each page in the page tree in the Contents pane should now have a checkbox next to it. Check all the pages you want to publish.

From the drop-down menu at the top of the contents pane, choosing "Publish" will publish the pages on the public-facing portion of the website.

Setting To-Dos

To set a To-Do note, browse to the page you wish to make a note on in the Page Tree in the Contents pane on the left-hand side of the screen. In the Editing pane, click on the "To-do" tab. Type in your To-Do note, then press "Save" in the bottom right hand corner of the editing pane to save the note.